Forum

Google and Trademark Laws  (View post)

James Xuan [PersonRank 10]

Friday, October 5, 2007
16 years ago3,104 views

I can't ait to read it

Ed Gegan [PersonRank 0]

16 years ago #

I am an attorney involved in one of those Google cases. So much for the full disclosure.

I would like to point out that a key aspect of proving a trademark violation is showing a likelihood of confusion. Without confusion, you can use any trademark you like essentially however you like (as long as you don't run afoul of the trademark dilution doctrine – you can't market a product like Mercedes-Benz brand coffee filters – even if there is no risk of confusion). An easy example of permissible use: "Our cars are much better, cheaper and last longer than those Mercedes-Benz cars". This is a "trademark use" but not a trademark violation because there is no confusion that this advertiser is a source of Mercedes-Benz cars.

As long as the use of a trademark on Google's Adwords campaign is not confusing, there is no trademark violation. And in the real world, there ususally is no confusion. However, Google tries to bypass this issue by arguing that there is no "trademark use" in the first place. The silent "second part" to their argument is that if it isn't trademark use, then they are allowed to make such use as confusing as they like. This is not in the consumers' best interest.