Google Blogoscoped

Forum

GMail sending limits

DPic [PersonRank 10]

Monday, February 4, 2008
11 years ago2,910 views

shodan.in/2008/02/03/gmail-has ...

Gmail imposes a limit on the attachment size (20 MB) and the overall storage space (6 GB and growing) but there ’s also a daily quote on sending email. Break the rules and Google will disable you Gmail account temporarily without any warnings.

/pd [PersonRank 10]

11 years ago #

Not sure of this is correct –

"Rule 4: This is slightly unrelated but still important – Google will disable your Gmail account permanently if you don’t check your Gmail email for a period of nine months. All the stored messages will be deleted and you Gmail address (user name) may be released for others to grab it"

Replenishment and recylce's of userID is not specified anyway and I know that certain USerID that were Squattered over 2 yrs and the person has no activities in the accountID.. still yet to be released.

Secondly- IMhO for record retention, Google needs maintain archives for 5yrs +current year.

Can anyone verify rule 4 that Beth mentions ??

Tony Ruscoe [PersonRank 10]

11 years ago #

I'm sure we've discussed this 4th rule before and I found some documentation in the Gmail Support Center that basically implied that old usernames / email aliases would never be recycled. Can't find it right now though...

Haochi [PersonRank 10]

11 years ago #

"If Gmail service has been deleted from your Google Account, it can't be re-enabled and the username can't be reused."
mail.google.com/support/bin/an ...

Ionut Alex. Chitu [PersonRank 10]

11 years ago #

That's not true. You can re-enable it:
google.com/support/accounts/bi ...

Tony Ruscoe [PersonRank 10]

11 years ago #

Haochi, I think that's different. That's if you've deleted your own Gmail service, not if it's been disabled due to inactivity. Although the outcome may be the same...

Tony Ruscoe [PersonRank 10]

11 years ago #

Ah, here's your answer about usernames not becoming available again...

<< To protect our users' privacy, we can't reveal any details about why a username is unavailable, nor can we restore or release usernames that have been deleted or become dormant. >>

mail.google.com/support/bin/an ...

And here's how it becomes dormant and what they apparently do:

<< A dormant account is a Gmail account that hasn't been logged in to for six months.

You can still receive mail if your account is dormant, but you need to log in to keep your account active.

If you don't log in to Gmail within three months of it being labeled dormant – or for nine consecutive months – Google may delete the account. >>

mail.google.com/support/bin/an ...

Tony Ruscoe [PersonRank 10]

11 years ago #

Although compare what I've said above to what the same help article used to say:

<< If you don't log in to Gmail within three months of it being labeled dormant – or for nine consecutive months – Google deletes all messages in the account, closes it, and recycles the username. >>

From: blogoscoped.com/forum/22775-fu ...

This thread is locked as it's old... but you can create a new thread in the forum. 

Forum home

Advertisement

 
Blog  |  Forum     more >> Archive | Feed | Google's blogs | About
Advertisement

 

This site unofficially covers Google™ and more with some rights reserved. Join our forum!