Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Google's Office Filter Program  (View post)

Vicki VanValkenburgh [PersonRank 0]

Thursday, May 8, 2008
16 years ago4,016 views

Is google security something that could be useful for consumers? There is a lot of ergonomic appeal in the idea of dealing with google for anti-virus and spyware prevention than norton or mcafee, although I'm just a freelancer with a couple of machines, not an enterprise with dozens of users on a network.

I did go to the google security forum to check out this idea, but was somewhat put off by the number of complaints about how service didn't commence upon payment (there was some problem with the confirmation emails, I think) and the poor service and feedback from google. Still, I would think/hope they'd get those problems ironed out, and it might be something I could just run in the background along with all my other google apps.

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

16 years ago #

Not sure about security but I wonder how a program that allows the admin to make web pages inaccessible (including e.g. news content) ties into Google's proclaimed mission "to organize the world's information and make it universally accessible and useful."

mrbene [PersonRank 10]

16 years ago #

Philip, this application falls directly into the mission of organizing the world's information and making it accessible and useful. Maybe not directly into the "universally" part, but I think that the thought process for corporate use is the same as it is for China – some access is better than no access.

Google has organized information from the internet into broad categories. It's then made those categories accessible and useful to a corporate sysadmin who, previously, would have had to either maintain corporate 'allow/deny' lists, subscribed to a similar service, or closed off internet access completely.

Plus they've got a great 'do no evil' story – block the evil web-based threats!

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

16 years ago #