Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Gmail abuse of "Cc"-only message?

Ianf [PersonRank 10]

Saturday, August 16, 2008
15 years ago3,663 views

I've been using email for more than 20 years, and this is the first time I encounter a client that dispatches a message with ONLY the "Cc" adresses, neither "To" nor "Bcc" -line content.

Either the RFC822 rules have been superseeded, which I doubt, or Gmail in Basic HTML mode does something really *nasty* to clients' privacy (I usually put the future recipients in the Cc-field, while keeping the To/Bcc clear, all in order to PREVENT the msg from being dispatched prematurely/ or by accident; and, later, to be explicitly told to supply some addresses to send it to – ie. move the Cc ones to Bcc). Only not this time, Cc-adresses with null content in To/Bcc were enough.

I wonder therefore if you could test it in other setups, preferably both Gmail 2.0, Basic and Mobile views with/without CSS, and tell me

IS GMAIL MISBEHAVING FOR EVERYONE OR JUST ME ???

(and where, apart from mailto:mobile-support[put at-character here]google.com I need to report that to).

Grega M [PersonRank 2]

15 years ago #

Hm, I have been using Thunderbird for a few years now and it has no problems with sending e-mails with CC fields only...
I thought it is quite common to put only BCC addresses and the e-mail is sent to "undisclosed recipients"

Tony Ruscoe [PersonRank 10]

15 years ago #

I thought that Outlook and Outlook Express both allow this too.

Ianf [PersonRank 10]

15 years ago #