Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Why Designer Doug Bowman Quit Google  (View post)

drtimofey [PersonRank 10]

Sunday, March 22, 2009
15 years ago5,605 views

While he was a good designer, I wonder if he was pushing too much.

Bobby Norris [PersonRank 0]

15 years ago #

I don't think it sounds like too much pushing when you want a design to go ahead without details being argued like 1px, 2px, or 3px border.

I can relate to this guy in my own design position and really don't think as a designer I'm here to spend weeks deliberating over super subtle color tone differences or border sizes. There's just more to life, and I applaud this fella for going his own way.

Zim [PersonRank 10]

15 years ago #

I think he did the right thing. You can't have a discussion because of a silly thing like the thickness of a border...

Reid [PersonRank 0]

15 years ago #

I love most of Google's design decisions, but it's hard to blame a designer for wanting to do more.

John [PersonRank 0]

15 years ago #

Sounds like a smart move for Mr. Bowman – he sounds frustrated! Ironically, it seems one of the things that separated google from other search engines way back when was the fact that it was *just* a page with a search bar on it. Not exactly a huge design job.

What concerns me about this quote is that Google is seen as daring and comfortable with risk-taking. So this glimpse behind the scenes at having to defend the decision to roll with a 1, 2 or 3 pixel borders... well, it makes me wonder if google isn't quite as comfortable with risk as their image may suggest.

The idea of using "the numbers" to inform design decisions sounds like a nightmare!

albaniax [PersonRank 0]

15 years ago #

That is what Google makes, very, very simple design.

He better go to Yahoo and work there :) I bet they take him, if they see his prevoius work.

James Xuan [PersonRank 10]

15 years ago #

Yahoo sure do need a design team...

Roger Browne [PersonRank 10]

15 years ago #