Google Blogoscoped

Forum

lots of spam in gmail...

mark glanville [PersonRank 1]

Saturday, May 27, 2006
18 years ago3,426 views

is it just me, or is everyone else finding gmail's spam filter letting things through over the past few days?

i've been using gmail since sept 2004 and have only ever had about 5 spam emails get through the filter in that time, but just today i've had 4 and 2 yesterday.

obviously it's not a quantity that's causing me a problem, i'm just curious as to what's changed. i haven't knowingly leaked my gmail address to anyone unsavoury so is there something wrong with the filter?

mark.

dpneal [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #

I've had about 2 spam messages get through in the last 3 months. I don't think anything has changed. It's still excellant! By the way compare that to my Hotmail account, about 20 spam messages in my inbox just today!

Haochi [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #

Y'all lucky man, I received like 5 spam today(inbox) and ~100 others goes to Spam.

Ionut Alex. Chitu [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #

I get Chinese spam. Maybe Gmail can't filter Chinese text.

Michael White [PersonRank 1]

18 years ago #

yeah, I would definitely agree that I am getting more spam in the last few weeks or so. I'm getting a lot where the message is attached as an image.

Haochi [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #

>I'm getting a lot where the message is attached as an image.
Same here, like a hundred of them, and I got some from the exp1-host.com[i have no idea what's this].

Brinke Guthrie [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #

My wife uses her Yahoo! and also SBCGlobal.net addresses exclusively, and she is getting a TON of spam...58 overnight, including like a dozen from the same bozo.

I use only Gmail and get a few. I have anything from Yahoo! fwd'd to Gmail, but I get NOTHING like she does.

CJ Millisock [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #