Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Your Browser Personality  (View post)

Ludwik Trammer [PersonRank 10]

Sunday, August 20, 2006
17 years ago5,850 views

It's definitely written by a Opera user...

Tony Ruscoe [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

I'm a developer and I use IE6. I think around 80% of visitors to the sites I develop use IE6, so it makes sense that I should use the same. I don't think that reflects my personality.

(I'd rather use IE6 and know why I'm using it than use Firefox for the sake of trying to be a geek...)

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

I could probably list as many things I dislike about Firefox as IE, especially those nasty bugs. The one thing I really prefer about Firefox is that as a (relatively) minority browser, less security exploits target it. (If Firefox becomes a 90% market share browser let's see how many exploits it will have.)

Now I've gotten kind of used to Firefox (especially the neat extensions and such), though at one time I was ready to switch back to IE7 because of certain bugs that never got fixed in any release, nevermind them being in Bugzilla for long time (I'm talking pre-1.0 final).

Then again, after seeing IE7 I'm sure *not* to switch. The one thing IE6 got right was being very much integrated in the OS, including shortcuts, interface design and so on. IE7 – the Beta I saw – is trying too hard to be cool but loses its big bonus, being simple to learn & use.

Opera, on the other hand, I always disliked because of its interface, though it has lots of nice features and is very innovative in certain areas, and always had great CSS support. I kinda think Opera should put all of its efforts behind the mobile browser market and forget about the desktop; on Windows, the "alternative browser" crown seems to have moved to Firefox a while ago. The mobile market on the other hand might be growing and is still open to competition. Opera Mini is nice, but still has many obvious things it lacks...