Google Blogoscoped

Forum

AdSense Blacklist to Increase Revenue  (View post)

Katinka Hesselink [PersonRank 2]

Saturday, December 30, 2006
17 years ago8,416 views

This has been around for a while. Some people claim massive increases in revenue while others don't see any improvements. Some even see a decrease in income.
In general I think it's safer to just limit the amount of ads on a page – so that there is no room for the lower performing ads.

Ionut Alex. Chitu [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

The concept is very good. I actually block as many MFA sites as I can and that site has a good database.

MFA sites use arbitrage to serve users pages with much more expensive ads. The problem is that many users click on their ads and increase their CTR. That's why you'll see them at the top often.

The new algo for landing page quality has improved the situation.

Glen Johnson [PersonRank 0]

17 years ago #

I have been using this for about 2 months now. I saw an increase in the payout for my clicks within days. It has leveled off now but for with the low paying sites being filtered out days of having 100 or more clicks that pay $1.20 are over.

Grimmthething [PersonRank 2]

17 years ago #

I am going to give it a try. I am averaging 59 clicks a day with a cpm of $2.54 , I am adding the 50 they provided on the site.

Doug Karr [PersonRank 1]

17 years ago #

I also saw an improvement in my revenue when I added the companies that were suggested. One thing to keep in mind is to ensure you analyze the before and after with respect to the traffic on your site. My site continues to grow – but my revenue took a much nicer leap after adding the blacklist.

Ryan [PersonRank 0]

17 years ago #

I'm going to try this out. I've been getting about 3 cents per click on noslang.com so it's not like it can really hurt me.

I wonder if it works for YPN or not? I've tried it for one of my YPN based sites just to see if it helps...