Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Google Image Results Redesign Undone (Poll)  (View post)

James Xuan [PersonRank 10]

Wednesday, February 21, 2007
17 years ago5,462 views

i have the old way back

Hong Xiaowan [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

Both my like.

David Hetfield [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

yeah i can see it too.. :/

Matt Robertson [PersonRank 1]

17 years ago #

Not only did Google change the layout back, but it seems that Google also updated their search results.

I'm an earth science teacher. I was searching for images of specific geologic features yesterday, but today I'm getting different (yet better) results.

I don't have any screenshots to prove this, but is anyone else getting any different results for specific searches?

alek [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

One other minor tidbit (I think it was doing this before?) is that if you have mutltiple results on the page, it will provide a hotlink to show all from that site.

I.e. The first two results for this Google image query:
   http://images.google.com/images?&q=weed
are from my site. I certainly wasn't "trying" for that keyword, but it is kinda priceless to have your Father-in-Law rank #1 for "weed" – for those that don't know, that is American (International?) Slang for marijuana! ;-)

Note that on the second result, there is a hotlink that adds the "site:" parameter – I see similar behavior for this search also – http://images.google.com/images?&q=hulk

David T [PersonRank 7]

17 years ago #

I have the old one on mine...

I'm glad they have reversed it, I didn't like the new design at all.

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

> I don't have any screenshots to prove this, but is
> anyone else getting any different results for specific
> searches?