Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Google Voice Call Announce with Bluetooth

Travis Harris [PersonRank 10]

Friday, February 5, 2010
14 years ago6,548 views

I have moved over almost exclusively to google voice, and with tools such as iDialer and iContacts I have been able to make it a very usable technology.

However, there is one "Missing Feature" that has always bothered me. The ability to accept a call without pressing one.

The reason they do this is so that when your answering machines/voicemail from the numbers you are ringing pick up, the caller does not get switched to that system.

The problem for me is that I use a windows mobile phone, so getting to the keypad, and then pressing one is so cumbersome that I can not do it while driving, and even when I am at my desk, I sometimes do not get to my phone in time.

I have always understood that cost because as a programmer myself, the obvious solution of being able to answer a voice prompt insted (eg. "To accept this call say 'yes'") would be thwarted by peoples answering machines speaking and most likely clashing very frequently with whatever the user would be prompted to say.

Well, today I finally got my bluetooth! Exciting right? Well, g'bye google voice! Within minutes, I got my first call. Excitedly I press the bluetooth's answer button, and say "Hello" only to be greeted by "Call From Kimberly Harris To accept press one". Now, the process has gotten way more complicated... I dig out my phone, and luckily answer my wife's call just in the nick of time.

Well, defeated, I thought how I, if I were google, would fix the problem. and here is what I came up with,