Google Blogoscoped

Friday, April 15, 2005

XHTML Intentional

There are four doctypes in XHTML: Strict, Transitional, Frameset and Intentional. While you probably know the first three (they’re defined by the World Wide Web Consortium, after all), the fourth one may be new to you. The Intentional doctype describes the sort of XHTML that’s not XHTML really as it contains too many errors – not one or two, but dozens, and often, crucial ones which go against the spirit of XHTML. A document may not be called “valid Intentional” if it has less than 25 errors.

Here are some XHTML Intentional examples verified with the W3C validator:

  1. (Germany’s railroad site): 213 errors.
  2. (they jumped on XHTML/CSS very early): 98 errors.
  3., start page (Google’s blogging service): 36 errors.

Do you know XHTML pages with more errors? Can you beat this?


Blog  |  Forum     more >> Archive | Feed | Google's blogs | About


This site unofficially covers Google™ and more with some rights reserved. Join our forum!