Google Blogoscoped

Forum

AllTunes  (View post)

Stephen Tordoff [PersonRank 10]

Friday, March 31, 2006
18 years ago

A front end for www.allofmp3.com

Payment can be done by xrost, which in turn is done by paypal, so no one gets credit card details.

Works well, sound quality is good, seems legal, cheap

320kbps mp3 – approx $2 per album
   FLAC lossless – approx $6 per album

Darian [PersonRank 0]

18 years ago #

The real question is not wether AllTunes is legal in Russia, but if it is legal to buy songs from them in your country. I'm no lawyer but I got the slight feeling that the record industry might not like that. (Funny how globalization is only welcome when it suits the big money, ain't it?)

Dave M. [PersonRank 1]

18 years ago #

I've been using AllOfMP3.com for about 3 months now. They are great. MP3's with no DRM or pennies. It's a great way to try out an album before buying it somewhere else.

AllOfMP3.com has been around for about 3-4 years now and I haven't heard any complaints about credit card fraud or not delivering on what they offer.

AllTunes is a great interface to their library. It really makes selecting songs/albums easy and downloading is a breeze.

Is it legal. Hell no. However, the RIAA doesn't seem to be worried about them as much as P2P, so I'm not worried either.

They don't have the greatest selection of artists and albums, but they have stuff that must other legal download sites don't have. Like the Beatles.

I'll keep using them until the RIAA shuts down the connection. :)

Splasho [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #

The problem I have with it is not legal but moral. If I download a song with P2P, I get the song and the artist gets no money. Thats bad... If I download a song from AllofMP3, I get the song, the artist gets no money. AND allofmp3 gets money which they spend on advertising to more people and adding more songs to their list which makes more people download from them, etc.