Google Blogoscoped

Forum

What's all this Javascript doing to us?

photoactive [PersonRank 10]

Friday, January 26, 2007
17 years ago9,814 views

So please remember that I'm NO EXPERT on HTML, Javascript etc. Much as I love all the excellently interactive Ajax-y web aps like Gmail and Google Calendar, I increasingly miss intuitive functionality like being able to right-click on a link and do something with it.

I know that Google, for instance, can't do much about this while their applications are bound inside a standard web browser.

Take Google Reader, for instance. You've got a subscription in the left hand list. You decide you don't want it anymore. Intuitively, you want to right-click on the link, and have a contextual menu that pops up to allow the option of deleting the subscription.

Obviously Firefox or Internet Explorer won't allow you this option because they interpret the thing only as a link.

To me (and I know it's clueless) it seems that the only way the functionality of new web aps can be fully realised is if Google, Yahoo etc (hey, why not Microsoft) develop their own web interfaces, or browsers, that take advantage of the flexibility of modern networked applications.

All the rumours about a Google Browser seems to have stopped. But the more Google et al do to make the web more useful, the more standard browsers get in the way.

Any thoughts? Is this stupid? What can we expect?

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

This is by far NOT stupid. It gets right to the point of things. While there is a way to bring context-menus to right-clicks, it's not really working well cross-browser (that is, depending on your browser or browser setting, it might be turned off to have web pages open context menus on right click), but let me digress...