Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Why Good Programmers Are Lazy and Dumb  (View post)

M M Norman [PersonRank 0]

Thursday, August 25, 2005
18 years ago

Well, that explains why I solved so many programming problems being somewhat drunk...

Michael Krelin [PersonRank 1]

18 years ago #

I take it the reason for posting this information is to do a centipedality to all good programmers who read it? Shame on you! ;-)

Akshat [PersonRank 0]

18 years ago #

How about looking at http://search.yahoo.com?

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

18 years ago #

Only smart people know that URL, Akshat :)

Hans [PersonRank 0]

18 years ago #

My name is Hans, and I'm a lazy programmer.

Sean Lavery [PersonRank 0]

18 years ago #

Most programing comes by not even knowing what you are doing, putting a bunch of code together, getting angry at it, attempt to solve it, either solve it, or get even more angry and play games, then come back and solve it, then add annother function and then discover that they conflict and then rewrite them both.

Eddy [PersonRank 0]

18 years ago #

Is there a point to this story?

Werner Nieke [PersonRank 1]

18 years ago #

Good Morning, Philipp,

I go along with most of your article, in particular with "No; simply because the problem is so stupid, only stupidity can tackle it."

However, bear in mind Dilbert saying: "Stupidity is like nuclear power: It can be used for good – or evil. And you sure don't want to get any on you" ;-)

Have a nice day,
Werner

P.S.: And on second thought: We might be avoiding stupid questions, because each and everyone of us wants to be perceived as being _smart_, because we as a collective (which all man-made societies are in a way) tend to equalize _smart_ with _strong_ and reversely, _stupid_ with _weak_, don't we?
P.P.S.: Elaborating on Michael's assumption: You _are_ saying that you'd rather be stupid that smart? ;-)

Kimspitstop.dk [PersonRank 7]

18 years ago #

Philipp,

I believe you have a point!