Google Blogoscoped

Forum

YouTube Handed Out User Data  (View post)

Joey J. [PersonRank 5]

Saturday, October 21, 2006
17 years ago4,983 views

Oh god. This.. no. Just no.

/pd [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

Does this incident diminish your trust worthiness of Google ?

ha ha [PersonRank 1]

17 years ago #

The article said "Promptly"

The accused user said "eventually" and "no bad feeling"

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

> Does this incident diminish your trust worthiness of Google ?

Google didn't own YouTube at that time...

jtdgrz [PersonRank 1]

17 years ago #

Using the Google colors as the logo for YouTube in this post is just wrong. This has NOTHING to do with Google.

Russianger [PersonRank 1]

17 years ago #

Yeah u should change the logo

Ed Barton [PersonRank 1]

17 years ago #

This is more a problem with the justice system than with YouTube. If a court issues a subpoena, there may not be much YouTube can do about it.

I'm not a lawyer, but it seems to me that this shouldn't be the way the system should work. If anything, the subpoena should have been for YouTube to remove the content.

Christopher Sisk [PersonRank 1]

17 years ago #

I agree with Ed... YouTube shouldn't work as a link from lawyers to users... YouTube should take the content offline, inform the user that uploaded it via an encrypted message and leave it at that.

Philipp Lenssen [PersonRank 10]

17 years ago #

> Using the Google colors as the logo for YouTube
> in this post is just wrong. This has NOTHING to do
> with Google.

I have a standard icon for posts about YouTube, AdSense, Google Webmaster tools, Google Books etc. that I re-use for every post... and sometimes, update for all posts at once. Admittedly, the icon – which I did not create for this post – is not very fitting for this post as it talks about YouTube's non-Google past, so I just removed it this time.

Cristian Mezei [PersonRank 5]

17 years ago #