Google Blogoscoped

Forum

Google Translation Center, a New Human Translations Service in the Making  (View post)

Svetlana Gladkova [PersonRank 1]

Monday, August 4, 2008
15 years ago14,985 views

Great find, very interesting. Only last week I published a post about Google taking pride in not paying the translators at http://www.profy.com/2008/08/01/google-takes-pride-in-not-paying-translators/ and now you show this new product. It's just amazing!

As a former translator myself I feel like they are going to compete in a number of fields: a workbench may develop in some kind of CAT (computer-assisted translation) tool with the term taken from the best-known one – Trados. And they may also look to challenge translation marketplaces like ProZ and a number of other players in the same field as well.

My suggestion is that Google has simply gathered a really huge database of translators who were willing to participate in the "Google in your language" program and now they are looking to make further use of it. But I'm not sure that anything good will grow out of it if everything is based on volunteers again.

Tony Ruscoe [PersonRank 10]

15 years ago #

I just noticed something in this screenshot:

http://blogoscoped.com/files/translationcenter/translator-inbox.png

It looks like one of the documents being translated is "Google Operating System.htm" (fifth item in the list).

Now is that Ionut's blog or an actual operating system...? ;-)

Also, here's Amit Singhal's website (who's referenced in a couple of the screenshots):

http://singhal.info/

Brock [PersonRank 0]

15 years ago #